She's Back ! (Den Haag 2015 #2)

What a wonderful day.  My third January vacation-time trip to the Hague chaperoning students attending the annual MUN Conference and for the first time, one of the world's favourite portraits, Vermeer's "Girl With A Pearl Earring" is back in town, and I saw her !!  I have waited three years for this.  The Mauritshuis museum is virtually adjacent to my hotel and so I easily spent an idyllic five hours at this recently (and beautifully) renovated C17th city palace that is her gracious home. It is by all accounts a shockingly bad photograph, including the green side stripes of her hanging wall - my attempt to avoid the Poloaroid-blipfoto side grey panels on glaring white that a portrait oriented image always induces.  Nevertheless, she simply has to be my photo of the day as I have waited so long to meet her.

Also saw a lot of other really exquisite art works, walked 10,000 steps, did a little dullsville shopping for some personal maintenance items as part of a quick walking tour .  I rounded it all off this evening by having dinner with my colleague and wife who had arrived with the rest of the students earlier on this cold (but it could have been worse), day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.