Playing to the gallery

I have to confess that I was gobsmacked when  comments started to flood in on an image I'd scarcely bothered to publish last night.
Blipping  irregularly, and somewhat distractedly, of late, I had completely failed to see a big milestone looming up in front of me and suddenly it was like a surprise party with everyone I ever knew leaping out and showering me with accolades.
I am very touched and profoundly grateful for each and every one of the congratulations and compliments that have been so generously bestowed. However I am not going to pretend that I will be able to thank you all personally. So I asked Casey to take a bow (wow) for me and he agreed to step on to the stage, briefly, to acknowledge the applause.

Casey has appeared in my blips on numerous occasions over the last four and a bit years.  In 2011 he was in his prime and took our long walks in his short stride. Nowadays however he is an ageing, ailing dog who needs daily medication for a heart condition. He's happy to snooze the days away in a warm bed or in the sunshine when there is any. When we go out he plods behind me and I have to stop and wait for him to catch up. His sight and hearing are fading, his limbs are stiff, his breath is short. Mortality is catching up with him as it must with all of us. But here he is to say:

Thank you and good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.