The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Taste of Summer

This weekend has been relaxing, for a change, filled with bright blue skies, temperatures of 80 degrees F, and a refreshing breeze for an added bonus.
2 perfect days. A preview of the summer that starts in 4 weeks.

I have spent some quality time out on our back deck, enjoying the sights and sounds of a beautiful day. Birds chirping, children screaming with glee, and the familiar sound of the local ice cream truck, chiming out "Turkey In The Straw" in its hurdy gurdy fashion.

Such days bring about fond memories of my childhood, and my sister Ruby's fondness of iced tea. We usually made our tea from a concentrated tea powder, and added our own sugar, lemon, and ice. I was my sister's designated iced tea maker. I'm not sure how I got that honor, but I did.

This honor went on for many years until I was a college graduate and rebelled against the system. "Make your own tea," I screamed! Makes sense, right? She was 30 years old and fully capable of getting off her skinny backside and stirring the powder into the water.

This interaction resulted in me giving her a shove and tossing my own tea at her. I snapped. I also got into major trouble with my mom, as my sister had been previously injured in a car accident, and flew across the room like a rag doll. Why was she so weak?

In the end, I did get reprieve from serving her, but can't help but wish I could share a glass of this Huckleberry Sun Tea with her today. Ruby died unexpectedly about 3 years ago, so that will not happen. It's part of the circle of life, but hers ended early.

Iced Tea wars aside, my sister and I shared many wonderful memories of Summer days spent at our Lake House on Seneca Lake, Lodi, NY, USA. My four siblings were all considerably older than me, and took their turns watching that I did not wander off into the woods, or fall off the dock into deep water.

I still remember fetching my sister a bottle of Coke, and watching in envy as she and my eldest sister went off down the beach to the ice cream and candy shop with friends.

At this moment, I stare up at the dark blue sky, streaked with the remains of jets that have flown overhead, while the breeze sings through the trees. A dog barks, I feel my sister's spirit nearby, and suddenly miss her.

Later, I will enjoy this tea that I purchased in Utah, and make a toast to Ruby.

A bittersweet lovechild memory, filled with the Taste of Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.