Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Australia Day - Innisfail

Well, it was a bit of a washout, to say the least.
All those barbeques probably didn't happen, certainly there were no festivities on the streets of Blackheath.

I did spot a flag on this house.
I've always been rather partial to it, as it's one of a group of model homes which were built, possibly, in the fifties.

There's a similar one in another road called,'The Carpeted Campsite'.
About as Australian as you can get:)

I'm very glad I was born in Australia, but for me, the best thing about Australia Day is that it signals the resumption of life as we know it.

For those not in Australia you need to know that the whole country comes to a halt in January.

Definitely not a good time to need emergency treatment in a hospital, or a quick conversation with a lawyer.
But tomorrow it's back to work, back to school and normal radio and TV programming.
No more 'summer specials'.  

Except not for me.
I'll really know I've retired tomorrow and I think it's going to feel rather strange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.