horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Borrowing DaveH's Kingfisher

Though I think, going back a few years, he borrowed it off me at one point. Or likely a relative of this one at any rate.

I thought my chance had passed. Did a pseudo-commute pottering along the Water of Leith today. Stopped at a bit I've gone to before with a friend, as we've thought it would be great for a Kingfisher, and we've never, not once, seen one there. So I was taking some long exposure water shots and just packing up when I notice the blue. Timed to perfection with a dog walker and a cyclist going past and spooking the wee colourful exocet.

I pottered back and forth along a half mile or so stretch, just about to leave for a little task for my father in law, when there it was, the King, further away than DaveH got a shot from a couple of days ago, but gorgeous all the same. This is right at the end of my 500mm lens - was tempted to crop, but I like the branches and the colour contrast.

(not whinged for a while, still no iPad app? And the thumbnail crop doesn't work in Safari. I have, however, added a plug-in to Firefox (which I'm using so I can choose the crop) developed by someone here, whose entry I must pop back to, which gives me a rather pleasant grey background to everything to set off the photos). Now, if only the slight lightening and colour desaturation I'm getting on entries could be dealt with....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.