Dangerous Thoughts

In view of  Syriza’s victory in the Greek elections I thought I’d post this book cover.
The servant’s thought bubble reads “Dangerous thoughts…” and continues“…on democracy and human dignity” .
The book is a history of democracy in Sweden and relates how the powerful and monied classes always tried to prevent ordinary people from gaining any power.
It suggests that the rich and powerful usually know what is best for themselves, and often then claim that it is what society needs.
I guess you could safely say its authors were “left of centre” politically.
It is perhaps symptomatic of our times that it is being removed from our library (which means I could buy it for a few pence).
So, I wish all the best to the people of Greece in the struggles against the banks, the bankers, and the politicians of Europe who have been bought by economic forces.
I thought people were supposed to become less radical as they grew older but I seem to be moving in the other direction, and I'm not alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.