paperTIGER

By papertiger

Company.

I want to fix education in the world. As soon as I work on that, I am going to work on world hunger and then world peace.

-- Nolan Bushnell


Well, I didn't quite achieve that today but I did manage to fix yesterday's door which would not close!

Today was actually a really exciting day, so much so that I went in to work on my day off to go to the read through of our latest production, Blood Wedding. This is a co-production between us (Dundee Rep), Derby Theatre and Graeae. I've actually been waiting for this day for nearly 12 years since I graduated from my undergraduate degree at Glasgow University. My dissertation was on the representation of disability in theatre and Graeae, as the leading UK theatre company making work with artists who are deaf or disabled as well as their advocacy work championing the rights of such artists, were an inspiration to me throughout my research. So when I found out that they were performing Kaite O'Reilly's Peeling at the Edinburgh Fringe that August, I pestered and persuaded until they let me go and spend the week with them. I never looked back. And now they are working with us, in our building, with a hugely talented company and creative team, and I honestly couldn't be more excited.

It has been 12 years in the wings and I'm certain it will have been worth the wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.