Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

In the garden

I was in the garden separating snowdrops this morning because I have some work to do - paid work - and separating the snowdrops seemed more appealing. I'd read somewhere that just as they were coming up was a good time to do it. Anyway it didn't bother them and this robin took an interest so it got blipped. Robins don't judge, they just say "hi".

I finished that novel, The Circle. It certainly makes you think about all this, you know, blipping, facebooking, stars, hearts, likes. It's difficult to say this without upsetting fellow blippers, but I sometimes think this place feels like a cult - everyone so positive and loving and kind. And yet we're all human. Life just isn't like that. Just because people are being "excellent" up front in print, doesn't mean that they're not harbouring other thoughts, just that Big Brother Blip Central has told them to suppress any hint of factionalism. I'm getting on my soapbox again. Sorry! It's nice that people are still dropping by since I went undercover.

I was approached by a headhunter yesterday asking if I could recommend someone for a job. I said: "Me!" He was surprised. I guess I shouldn't have been surprised by his response but just because I've stepped off the corporate treadmill doesn't mean I can't do one of those jobs. The thing is there's just so much bullshit. I can see it in the spec so I suppose if I'm saying this here I don't have the right attitude to do the job. Could I go back? Obviously I thought so in promoting myself. Was it just the ego getting the better of me? Probably. Anyway somebody has to separate the snowdrops.

I can empathise here with Tom Chatfield discussing whether technology has rewired our brains - worth a listen.

I found this site, coursera.org, offering free courses a while back when I was looking for something on photography. I was too late to do the photography course but I've just started another on climate and the processes that went in to creating the Earth. It's very good - didn't do too well in the first test.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.