my little eye

By clarebeme

Happy birthday

I've reached the age where suddenly my physical reflection and my mental self-image have parted company and I look older than I feel. I guess those two images will never meet each other again.

In light of this recent joyous revelation I found this Selfridges window (designed by Molly Parkin) on my birthday of all days, to be comforting, inspiring and a blessed relief. By the way the writing is on the window, I didn't add it.

All the cake's been quite comforting too. Mind you I'm not sure it'll inspire greater respect for my older physical self. I'll have to work on that. Or perhaps I'll just focus on other things and then it won't matter so much.

In any event I'll get over it and on with it, but it's a moment to remember; a dividing of selves and an important even if unwanted milestone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.