Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

No Sunrise

Despite the almost clear sky above, a stubborn barrier of cloud on the eastern horizon blocked the sun emerging from the sea on the horizon. Using the Photographer's Ephemeris I'd calculated that it would rise just to the left of the Rock in the distance, so I'd set up in anticipation.

Ah well, I just had to adapt to the situation, dump the pre-visualisation, and make do. This shot caused me a couple of problems. Firstly, I hadn't realised that I'd not used the Lee Filter Big Stopper on my 7-5 filter kit before. I'd had one previously which had cracked after one use. I now store the replacement in an old Cokin filter box which is darn near perfect for protecting it in the bag. Well anyway, when. I came to let it out of the pouch it was still wrapped in the tissue paper so it took me a few more moments to prepare. The other problem was I don't know how to use the Olympus OM-D EM10 on bulb setting. As soon as I released the shutter it completed the exposure. When you need 4 minutes of exposure it didn't really help. In the end I kept my finger on the shutter release for the whole of the time. I'm amazed that it is sharp!

I apologise for the lack of response to your comments. WiFi is available only in reception areas of the hotel and so far we haven't spent much time in there.

Ps doesn't look as though the metadata has been pulled through.

4 minutes at f/13, 9mm (18mm equivalent) OM-D EM10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.