It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Ponte City and the Artisan

The original plan was to go to the masters swimming session with the legendary coach Scott Balfour. However, even this triathlon deity was not enough to get us out of bed before 6am. Rather, Rosemary got up with just enough time to get to her physio appointment (the practice is literally in the same tenement block as her flat) and I tenderised my tired legs with the foam roller for 30mins. 

After breakfast, we headed to the Commie Pool for a swim, the 20 x 50m main set was hard but I can't complain as it is me that designs my own programme. Rosemary was swimming so fast! I'm convinced that she's getting to a point that she could qualify for Ironman Hawaii! 

We then pedalled over to Marchmont to drop off a stem to be fitted to her TT bike at the bike fit studio, over to another bike shop to buy stuff for her tyres and then to the Broughton Deli for lunch! They do amazing cake, their chocolate and lime sponge being no exception. What a yummy lunch.

Then it was off to the National Portrait Gallery to see the Ponte City exhibition. Two photographers, Mikhael Subotzky and Patrick Waterhouse, had spent 5 years doing a sociological project on Africa's tallest residential building. It was fascinating work and well worth going to.highly recommended. Rosemary always 'pulls a face' when I mention going to an exhibition and tends to read the labels more than looking at the images! I once read that philistines were very good athletes.....ha ha! 

Once back at hers, there was just enough time for a cuppa, for me to pack and then for us to synchronise diaries for the next few months. Back onto the bike, we headed up to Waverley via Artisan Roast, Real Foods and my trip back to Manchester. Nothing like a chilled weekend! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.