The Beauty of Sound

My wonderfully supportive husband gave me the gift of a new Violin Bow for Christmas.  The violin was my first instrument and through playing this instrument my love of music was cultivated.  It has been far to many years that I have really played.  It sat in its case for years while I raised my family.  All the while I thought I will one day return to playing.  Can you really improve or bring back a talent that you have sorely neglected?  Am I too old to make my fingers move when they are not as flexible as when I was young.  I am hoping that arm with a plan and lots of practice, that I can relearn to play once again.  For awhile I took up the cello and enjoyed the challegne of playing that beautiful instrument.  But for me, when I pick up my violin, put in under my chin and draw the bow across the strings, it feels like home.  Today I focused on understanding what the bow does to the string.  Sounds simple enough.  The hair of the bow makes the string vibrate. But what does that really mean? The beauty of the sound depends upon a regular pressure and movement of the bow.  Starting back at the beginning makes sense to me.  I know I will never play in a world class orchestra, but just spending time immersed in music today brought great joy to me.  

This quote from Johann S. Bach sums it up for me. "The aim and final end of all music should be none other than the glory of God and the refreshment of the soul."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.