The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Canyoning

A group of 11 people from my hostel all went for a day of canyoning. We arrived around 9am and suited up with a life jacket, helmet and harness before walking down in to the canyon. We started off by sliding down a rapid head-first in the cold water. Then we got to abseil down a couple of dry cliffs.

We had a picnic (DIY bánh mì) at the top of a massive waterfall, watching as another group disappeared over the edge, knowing we'd be doing the same after lunch. It was pretty scary and very slippery especially with the force of the water hitting you. Then the rope ends and you have to jump the last section.

After that we did an 11 metre cliff jump. I had my GoPro in my hand as I ran and jumped over the edge. Before hitting the water I brought my hands in to my chest, as we'd been instructed. Unfortunately the force of hitting the water thrusted the GoPro up in to my chin. As I was under water I felt the pain and then noticed the blood when I surfaced. It was a fairly deep cut but the staff tried to patch me up.

We finished with another abseil over a waterfall, known as 'the washing machine' due to the fact you lower yourself (away from the rock) in to the waterfall and can get spun around before dropping in to the water and being spat out by the force.

It was an amazing experience and a packed day all for $20.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.