Juvenile

A strange day. The morning was taken up almost entirely with a full team review of two patients with complex and extensive needs. Very different. The second pushed my buttons, about the way modern psychiatry has forgotten the value of lithium used properly. (Later in the day I talked with the inpatient psychiatrist, and we agreed on a treatment plan.)

This afternoon I saw a young man whose diagnosis has been the subject of disagreement, and I think he has a tic disorder; a variant of Tourettes. Not a psychotic illness at all.

After work I left to go to Western Springs Lake and surrounds, and on the way saw a person for whose care I had been responsible 15 - 20 years ago. She was distractedly walking across the road into the evening peak traffic. Fortunately for her (and the drivers) the lights changed before she got in front of the line of traffic and she was unharmed. 

I was reflecting on the severe deterioration in her health (mental and physical by all appearances), when my name was called, and I turned to see another old patient who wanted to talk to me about how well he is doing, essentially still on the same treatment as I had begun. He has managed to become stable in his moods and has recently started work as a peer support worker. He is proud to have his first real job and income after spending half his life fighting his illness. It eased my angst to see and talk to him.

Down at Western Springs, I followed the Meola Creek to the rear of the Auckland Zoo. It was there that I saw these tiny birds, and managed to get this photo, which I am pleased with. I have identified it as a juvenile goldfinch but would be happy to be corrected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.