DJ Premier!

Royce Da 5'9" - Boom (18 Inch Street Version)

I spent most of the day relaxing and then remembered that DJ Premier was in town to play. FUCK yeah!

I love his sound, some real hip-hop in my opinion. Some of my favourite tracks produced by him are:

Classic - Rakim, KRS-One, Kanye West and Nas
Nas is Like - Nas
What You Expected - DJ Honda
Moment of Truth - Gangstarr

Great stuff. He DJ'ed the old-school way where he'd scratch and drop in songs. And unlike many commercial DJs, he'd let a song rock on instead of just playing a snippet and switching to the next one. Grandmaster Flash DJ'ed the same when I saw him also. I couldn't get a good picture of him due to the light, but the club was packed. I was boppin' non-stop at the front.

Managed to get my last train home but unfortunately it stopped two stops away from mine... it wasn't too cold so instead of catching a cab, to which there weren't many, I decided to walk. It took about 1.5 hours with plenty of stops to take photos, get drinks from the convenience stores and explore. There were a few hairy moments when crossing a bridge under construction but it was amazing to see the sky so clear and listen to the twilight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.