Deep Inside

Mary J. Blige - Nobody But You

Needed to chill at home and listen to music.

I watched a Mary J. Blige interview last night and was really moved by her and what she had to say about her new album. I realized then that I've been moved by her many times throughout my listening life. Somehow it never occurred to me, perhaps because I hold other female R'n'B / Soul singers in higher regard like Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner, Anita Baker, Erykah Badu and Lauryn Hill. She was a lot more commercial in the 90s compared to the neo-soul I religiously listened to. I guess it's the first time where I'm straight-up about her now. Kinda like an artist moving into a higher echelon of your music collection.

I remember being wowed by her performing live on SNL singing Sweet Thang but never thought to investigate further. I had bought "Mary" back in 1999, got every sequential album after and never looked back. There are always more than one song that moves me. Her sound is just so much more subtly powerful and honest compared to the arrogance of Alisha Keys (although The Diary Of Alisha Keys is fantastic) or the jarring boom box of Beyoncé (who never fails to make me feel exhausted by the second chorus of every one of her songs, except Single Ladies, that song's a hoot).

Anyway, some songs I love of hers.

I'm In Love
Be Without You
Nobody But You
Sweet Thang
Stay Down
Just Fine
MJB the VIP
Good Love
Just Fine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.