Inverculain

By Inverculain

Hot ice??

While I was looking around for inspiration this evening, Rachael was boiling a pan of water and suggested I see what I could do with the patterns the bubbles made on surface.

I tried a few macro shots(*), with a touch of flash, and I was was fascinated by how the bubbles looked when they were "frozen" like that - on some of the bigger ones in particular, their surface, rather than being smooth and rounded, seemed to have lots of facets, like a rough gemstone or chipped block of ice.

Fascinating as that was, plain water-coloured bubbles still looked a bit dull to me, so what you see here is the result of a bit of idle pottering with Silver Efex and Photoshop.

(*) I managed, amazingly, to avoid getting the lens steamed up. I did, however, get in trouble for delaying the spaghetti.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.