aprice12

By aprice12

Meant to knit

I had every intention of sitting and knitting tonight. Then I remembered I had a book review due. So I sat down at my laptop to type it up. Then I started reading through the book, having only read part if it, and got sidetracked.

I finished my review an hour or so later and thought about knitting but then decided to go share some of my posts on Facebook. I imagine my horror upon seeing what looked like a suicide note posted by one of my closest cousins. her sister was frantically trying to reach her to make sure she was ok.

I started messaging back and forth with both her sister and her daughter, trying to find out what was going on. I also called her mom, who wasn't too concerned about it.

The daughter ended up calling the police to go check on her. They requested an ambulance upon arrival but wouldn't tell her anything more. She's at work, worrying about her mom and not wanting to call her grandma and wake her up since it's 1 in the morning. My other cousin, the sister, was worried but had to be at work in a few hours so she lay down to try to get some rest.

I called the mom, my aunt, back to let her know that she was taken to the hospital. And now I wait to hear something from anyone, but no one is saying anything.

So, while I started out tonight with the intention to knit, it just didn't happen. Hopefully I get some good news tomorrow and find out she was just depressed but didn't actually harm herself.

Here's hoping all is well. We've had enough suicides in the family the past few years, including her brother and one of our uncles. I doubt we can handle many more. It's hard to be the ones left behind. Grief and mourning is for the living, and we've had our share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.