Aeroplane tyres for camel carts

This must be one of the best bits of recycling ever - the round wheel works so well in the desert.  These camels were on their way home from the fair.

We left Nagaur for Jaipur so I could have another couple of horizontal sessions with the dentist.  We saw several families of wild blue bull again, some shrikes, little chinkara deer, a herd of female camels, more little Siberian cranes stuffing themselves in a harvested millet field and best of all lots of flamingos in some salt pans.  We had to walk along narrow guage rail tracks to reach them and were passed by a weeny engine pulling lots of wooden trucks full of chunky salt crystals.  They go to a local factory and from there we saw a huge train of 70 long trucks leaving, full of salt that had been crushed from the crystals, soaked in iodine, dried to powder and packaged for sale at 10 rupees a kilo.  I was trying to take a photo of Yusuf sitting in a railway cart when I stepped into what I thought was a solid bit of the path - ha! It was covered with a disguise of salt crust but I sank into the vilest salty black mud pit half way up my shins.  It was like glue and it was with difficulty that I managed to retrieve my shoes.  My trouser bottoms and socks were solid with the vile smelling stuff and I had to walk a mile back after we had watched the flamingoes for half an hour in bare feet - no problem on salty dust!  Found a tap and washed self, changed trousers and had to do the ghastly wash of it all in a bucket in the street when in the guest house in Jaipur for I couldn't contaminate their garden or my bathroom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.