MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

Art-Challenged

Went for a quick walk and I took this photo at the local Desert Botanical Garden.
It is called Lonely Flight by Lawrence Mukomberanwa, a Zimbabwean sculptor.

I have to admit that at first glance I thought it was representative of a T-Rex head which says nothing about the sculpture but does say something about my point of reference. (That "something" being a long story.)

But I am proud to say that I can actually see the woman that was sculpted into the rock. And I can appreciate the sense of movement in the sculpture.

Sometimes I look at "art" and I do not see what the artist intended or even what others see. I know I am not alone in that but it still bothers me a little...I often wonder what else am I missing?

I do see the beauty in many things though so I can live with that and with my abstract-art-challenged brain. Not that I have a choice at this point. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.