misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

The Secret Snow

Well, the 6 inches of snow that fell overnight was a secret from me. These things happen while we are snug in our beds. 
I was surprised at mid-morning to see my good neighbour, Dick, out front with his new snowblower going after the driveway accumulation. Good man.
When I'd awoken early on I had not observed more than a little dusting of snow on the trees and never bothered to look at anything else because the street was totally black and wet. 
First thing, while it was still dark, I had even blipped to our friend in the Bavarian forest that we were simply not getting new snow even with the winter advisory warnings.
I am not one to pay attention to the environment enough, I guess.

Dick informed me that the Village Snow Removal guys had been around at 4 a.m. (really!!) to clean the roads. Woke him up.
Later today as I send this out we are having big fluffy flakes snowing down in between sunbreaks. 
No secret there!
The next big snowfall is rumored for Superbowl Sunday. No way my sports fan, Dick, will be over to snow-blow or shovel. For some it is almost a national, semi-religious holiday! 
But, I have plenty to do. The public library just called to say I have 10 films on DVD and one book ready for pick up. I know why I shall be glued to the big screen.
I was told that there is a SIX HOUR pre-game warm-up show before the big game begins in the evening. UGH!! Thankfully no TV in this house.

On the other hand: "Go Seahawks!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.