Friday Foto

By drmackem

Lost In Translation

A long and full day today.

The ski tutor refused to speak to me in English today, I'd caused him enough trouble for one week and thought it was time I did the work.
A tree in the woods we skied through didn't understand me when I asked it to move resulting in my most "controlled" stop all week - and I wear the mark of it on my face - making me  look more rugged and handsome imho.
Over drinks at lunch time, one of my ski group who is Russian introduced me to her 5 years old twins, who were fluent in Russian and French but "have no English" but we managed to her surprise a full if surreal conversation in English gleaned from Cartoons they'd washed(I'm sure 5 years old shouldn't say bummer...).
Tonight the 5 of us holidaying together hosted 7 locals who are friends of Les and Vera, my french is poor but I understood 70% of what they said, and was fluent in cheese eating.
HIbbert pictured here has a gallery nearby and had sent Les and I the task of producing a photo for his annual photo exhibition which with our contributions is now an international photo exhibition. He was very generous regarding my photo of spartan silhouetted on the Badgerstone on the moor (the theme was balance). Hibbert had no English but clearly understood "more wine", by the end of the evening we were in full conversation clear that we understood each other. For all I know I was telling him my problems with my pregnancies.
It was a most excellent evening with old and new friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.