LeahL

By LeahL

Affirmations

I get really annoyed with all the positive affirmations people share. Short comments that are supposed to make you feel good about yourself in the world can make the fatalist in me come out. To the person who taped a home printer copy complete with cheesy misty rainbow image of Maya Angelou's quote 'Try to be a rainbow in someone else's cloud' in the toilet at work I say, 'Nice try. And how dare you cheapen the memory of Maya Angelou.' But the words I spotted chalked on the pavement in this photo struck a chord with me as I am trying to learn to value myself and respect myself. It all sounds very dramatic but it is a plain fact I have always put others ahead of myself and it is starting to take a toll. I am trying to reverse this habit before it is too late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.