Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Pip Squeak

Thank you for your kind words yesterday. Feeling a bit better today. I thought it only appropriate to take a picture of wee pip today. This is my wee Pip. She is daughter of Moss and Shaw born in April 2012. She was initially called Banshee as she was the noisiest pup in the litter, mainly I think because she was the runt!! I moved on to calling her Pip Squeak which was a nicer name for her. She is the sweetest little cuddle bug and packed full of attitude. She likes the pack to be happy and tries to calm dogs whenever they are getting grumpy or overexcited. If I am a little under the weather she insists on following me around and being right next to me. She is a super girl and I am enjoying my journey with her!

Her training as a sheepdog has been a slow process, when she was at the ideal age to start her training she damaged a muscle in her shoulder and took over 3 months to get better. Holding her back has made her super excited about working the sheep so she tends to run round and round and round them. She just doesn't want to stop.  My answer now is to let her help me feed the sheep everyday so the novelty wears off and she settles down. She has now started to steady herself and whilst putting out the feed I even noticed her pausing on the point of balance. This is without me telling her to do anything. I think she needs to learn for herself that the calmer she is the easier it is to move and control the sheep!!

The sun is out today between the showers but the 30mph northerly wind makes it feel very cold if you stand around too long. Took my lot to the beach again just to double check the cattle. All happy and the dogs enjoyed a play in the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.