24heuer

By 24heuer

A ba$tard of a job!

Sorted at last!
This all started a few weeks back when I noticed a dribble of diesel at the fuel sender on the Land Rover.
No bother I thought, just needs a wee tighten - that's when the nightmare began.
Unfortunately while tightening it up I snapped the plastic pipe on the sender unit.
Oh well, new sender ordered up and fitted - no problem.
Well, actually...
It was runnning fine but again a wee dribble.
Tightened it up and while I was down there I noticed a hole in the exhaust so ordered up a new one.
A few days later and new exhaust fitted the Landy just wouldn't start.
Well it would but it was taking so long that sometimes it drained the battery so far that it just wouldn't crank any more.
What was going on?!
I lost count of how many times I refitted the sender and retightened the pipes.
I trawled every Land Rover site on the web and tried all sorts but finally caved in and bought a new lift pump.
What a job that was fitting it today!
It must've taken me 3 hours!
As you can see there are pipes everywhere and at 1 point I actually thought it would not be possible.
You just can't get spanners in to remove and replace the 2 bolts holding it in place.
But after a few (well let's be honest, there were a lot more than a few!) naughty words and some improvised tools it's fitted and working :-)
I'm a happy man - time for a curry and a well earned beer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.