PeckhamBelle

By PeckhamBelle

Mum! I've got to make a ..

3D Plant cell.

If you ever hear those words, I offer you my version of a solution:

Go to the Poundshop. Buy the cheapest hair gel or shower gel on offer. This is your cytoplasm. (You could use jelly. I wish I'd thought of that earlier.)

Return home. Send child into garden to look for a smooth black pebble. This is your nucleus.

Look in the cupboard under the sink for a green sponge. There will be one there, I promise. Get child to cut sponge into lozenge shapes. Those are chloroplasts.

Go into the other cupboard and find those zip-lock freezer bags you never use. That's your cell membrane.

Dig out an old takeaway container = Cell wall.

Get child to combine hair gel, sponge pieces and pebble inside the ziplock bag. This is the fun bit.

Put sealed bag (semi-permeable membrane) inside plastic container (impermeable membrane).

If there are any science teachers out there, I hope that sounds vaguely plausible?

Job done. Get to 11.30 pm. Realise you haven't taken a picture all day. Blip Plant Cell. Vow to go out tomorrow and take a decent photo.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.