and through the wire...

By hesscat

Burns Night

So we'd kind of been preparing for tonight for 2 months, ok, I had, after Ms H. expressed a wish to sing at our local Burns Supper. I spent a bit of time finding suitable songs and then working out how to play them, but still by 2 weeks ago, she'd made no serious attempt to learn them! Hence recent Eeeeeks!

It took one motivating lesson with her singing teacher, who taught her how to sing one of the songs better than I ever could (I think that was the issue) and she returned praised and much more confident.

So tonight came and she sung "Love is Like a Red Red Rose" and "Aye Fond Kiss" with just a wee bit of nerves. From our point of view she was fantastic, I wish I could have sat in the audience and listened to it.

Yes I am proud of my lass, but these past 2 weeks have seen her sing louder and more confidently. Initially she'd been unwilling to sing to me until she'd practiced and now she is happy to sing a new song with me straight away. Result!

Proud Dad will stop now... will get some much needed sleep, we've got to do it all again tomorrow, ok on a smaller scale...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.