Henry Gray

By Gustavo

Banana Flower

Hoi An is famous for being one of the culinary delights of Vietnam, and therefore Asia as a whole. We spent today on a cookery course with one of the local women -she took us to the market in the morning to help us choose the freshest rice paper, vegetables, coconuts, shrimps, fresh fish, recently slaughtered chickens and huge slabs of pork (no tails thank you).
Then we went back to her house and all ten of us learnt how to prepare our dishes and then watched each other cook and ate together. A very fun, but filling, day!
This is the banana flower which I used to make my banana salad (surprisingly not just a banana with some lettuce as the name might suggest). I need to source some banana flowers or similar food now that I'm home so that we can use the fancy slicer and dicer we got on the course!

* I found it incredibly difficult to choose which photo to upload for every day here - there was so much to see and do on each day! Any recommendations for websites where I can put up more than one photo a day? I tried flickr but don't seem to be able to sign up there without a yahoo account..?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.