Attingham Park

I've had a wonderful day.

I enjoyed the first couple of sets of Andy Murray's game but then it all went pear-shaped for him. But it did mean that I could head out to make the most of the dry and cold sunny weather.

Attingham Park is a National Trust property not far from Shrewsbury. They have wonderful snowdrop walks and a beautiful deer park.  They were advertising that they would be feeding the deer at 2.00 at weekends and during half term weeks.  I wasn't so keen on watching the feeding, but I did fancy seeing the herd.

I had a lovely stroll along the snowdrop walk, then did the "Mile Walk" by the river. I could see the herd, waiting in the reserve area, so I made my way up to where they were.

This was well before 2.00 but the deer were clearly aware that it was getting near the time. When I was up there, it was relatively quiet - just a few people taking photos and being respectful of the herd. I took lots of photos and then made my way back to the car park.  (I didn't fancy buying any of the venison from the shop). Hoards of other people were making their way up to where the deer would be fed. I think I made the right decision.

But the deer were very nearly supplanted for today's blip.  Just outside the main toilets I spotted a robin. I pointed my camera at him and he flew directly at me, and landed on a rope fence. He posed, taking up various robin positions.  It was hilarious.  I spoke to him and thanked him - other visitors were amused and a couple then took photos.  I think I may have my Christmas card photos for next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.