"My" Mountain

This is Schiehallion in Perthshire, the only Munro I have ever climbed (or am likely to!)  It will always hold a special place in my memories, although it was a day to remember in more ways than one. 

I hadn't planned to climb it, only to accompany a friend to the bottom, but I couldn't resist it once I was there. I was fine going up, but fell heavily twice on the way down and had bruises for weeks.  I also got dehydrated and could barely finish the walk back to the car because of wobbly legs.  Fortunately a bottle of water sorted me out quickly.

Today I looked at it covered in its beautiful white coat and could hardly believe I'd been right to the top!! 

We had a fabulous day out, driving to Aberfeldy via Dunkeld to check out a couple of beats on the River Tay that my husband will be fishing later in the week.  A tasty lunch at The Watermill and then on to Tummel Bridge via the high road, still covered with snow in parts.  I did wonder if my little car would manage it, but it did me proud.  A quick stop at The Queen's View overlooking Loch Tummel and then home again. 

Very few cars on the roads, possibly because of the football this afternoon, so we had many of these views all to ourselves:-)  Magic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.