Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

The Virgin of Alsace

This statue is in the grounds of the Dean Gallery in Edinburgh (or Modern Two if you have to use the new terminology) and is by Emil-Antoine Bourdelle who created it in 1919-21. I love it - it's such a powerful depiction of the Virgin holding the Christ child aloft in triumph.

I'm going to admit that I've changed the background for this photo. The statue is outside in the grounds of the gallery and I found the trees a bit of a distraction. If you want to see it in its proper setting, there's a photo of it, and more info about it, here.

I was at the gallery to see the exhibition of "The Two Roberts", Robert Colquhoun  and Robert Macbryde which was OK, there were some good pictures, but I wasn't bowled over, I have to say. The main reason I was there was to meet up with my friend S who I hadn't seen for a few years. It was great to see her again and catch up a bit. We mustn't leave it so long to the next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.