Rambling daily

By Ramblingfree

The Baptistry Guildford Cathedral

We drove through Guildford on the way to see my brother and I was reminded of the Cathedral high up on Cathedral Hill over the city. As D had not seen it we detoured for me to show him it. I remember visiting it as a child when it had just been finished and again when I was interviewed for a post grad course at the University (I turned the place down). On both occasions I was struck by the ugliness of the brick exterior but the serenity of the somewhat plain (by traditional standards) interior. I don't remember noticing the Baptistry previously but it took my eye for its symmetry and the granite cross in the floor on which the font is centred.

Baptism is the start of your life as a Christian. The font is usually placed near the West Doors of a church to signify your entrance to the Christian life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.