Penguin Droppings

By gen2

22.5 Degree Lunar Halo

I had a bird blip ready to post but I can get those any day.
We were out dining with friends tonight and on returning, noticed that there was a full lunar halo visible and decided to blip that for a change.

The moon (overexposed here in order to capture the fainter halo) is two days prior to full.
The bright object just outside the halo at 9 O' Clock is the planet Jupiter.
The two stars inside the halo at 11 O' Clock are Castor and Pollux (Gemini).
The bright star just below 3 O' Clock on the halo I believe to be  Aldeberan. is Betelgeuse.
The star within the halo (half way) just left of 6 O' Clock is probably Betelgeuse. is Procyon (in Canis Minor).

The reason I am a little vague is because I could see very few stars and therefore could not get my bearings. The sheet of high cirrus, the bright moon and urban light pollution combined to obscure the majority of stars. In fact these few stars showed up far clearer in this 4-second hand-held (against a wall) exposure.

(Monday 2nd Feb - Update:
I have been able to see many more stars tonight and can now put the brighter ones into context. I have amended the statements above. I made the mistakes because I had the scale wrong and Aldeberan is further off to the right out of the image.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.