The second half of life..

By twigs

Cicada

I heard a comment yesterday that the cicadas were remarkably quiet this year.  I hadn't really thought about it up until that point, but once it was mentioned I have become more aware that yes, they are indeed very quiet.  A tree in my back garden would normally be almost ringing with their chirping but I've only heard the odd one or two.  

I guess the rain over the past few days may have affected them - like this one here.  I guess it would be pretty hard to chirp and sing when you had a drop of water on your head weighing you down!

Strange though it may seem after a long summer holiday, today was our regional Anniversary Day.  Another day to call my own :)  Wonderful.  It began with listening to the beautiful sound of rain falling onto my tin roof.  There's something so very rythmical and soothing about that sound - I love it.  After the rain stopped I ducked out to the garden to where yesterday's shield bug had been to see if I could get a better shot of a water-laden bug.  This chap was resting between leaves though had clearly been caught in the rain at some stage.  Definitley worth a look large if you can.

So - the real work commences tomorrow.  Our new intake's first day.  I imagine there will be some very nervous wee things in thier homes tonight, full of anticipation - and some fear possibly - about their new 'big school'.  

Best make for an early-ish night tonight, particulalry after all the late nights watching tennis!

Ciao for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.