The Summer Spirit

We're in the middle of an intense electrical storm, I've never seen so much lightning and poor Toto is hiding in the bathroom and will not come out!!  I've been trying to get a shot of the lightning but no luck!  

There have been some big strikes nearby and all the lights are out on the other side of the road, we could be next so I'm going to make this quick!

It seems like a bit of a long stretch to make this fit into MonoMonday:Spirit but here goes and big thanks go to our new host JoanneInOz! :)

It seems the spirit of summer has deserted us, not that I miss the heat! We had the coolish day yesterday and then big storms last night!  The shopping centre across the road and the surrounding area was without power all night and most of today!  

Another huge storm moved in this afternoon and the leading edge of the black clouds was swirling around in a scary dangerous kind of way! Of course I still raced outside and started snapping shots until the rain came!! :)

And now tonite the most amazing display of lightning ever!!  It seems neverending as it's been going for a couple of hours but I've looked at the radar and there isn't too much more to go but it's raining hard now and the wind has picked up!  

I am so tired, it's 11.30pm and I have to go and try and get Toto outside and bedded down for the night, food will be involved! :) I wonder who will win!

Update: We've survived the night, when the storm had gone and there was a momentary lapse of wind and rain I enticed him outside with some dry food and there he stayed :;o).  There was considerable damage around the town and here's a link to the local paper if you're interested
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/26181712/lightning-rain-sweep-through-city/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.