kwchas

By kwchas

A Flock of Seagulls

Today I went down to Moore Nature Reserve which is a little oasis surrounded by industry and a massive landfill site near Warrington. It's well worth a visit as there is some terrific birdlife. As well as looking for  photo opportunity I wanted to complete a small series of geocaches placed there and I was mainly concentrating on the caches today although I went into a couple of hides. In one of these hides a bird watcher was helping me identify the ducks that included teal and shoveler.

As it is next to landfill it is very popular with gulls that almost covered one of the surfaces of one of the small lakes. After I had completed my caching expedition I was watching the gulls when all of a sudden a large number flew up into the air before settling back down again and it was an impressive sight.

Most of the birds were black headed gulls with the odd herring gull. I was talking with a bird watcher at this hide and he told me that an Iceland Gull had been spotted there but having just looked in a bird book I have no idea how anybody could spot one of these in this mass of birds.

A 1980s pop reference in the title in case anyone didn't spot it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.