madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Ice Quarry

A strange sort of frost today - part frost, part hail, possibly snow, so I decided to go up on Kit Hill and see what the quarry looked like. COLD! The stones were no longer floating, more locked into position. It looked as if you could walk across the surface - but I wasn't going to put it to the test! 
Bumped into 3 other people with dogs - one who was hidden behind from where this photo was taken - couldn't work out why she was hidden down this dead end, then realised nature had called her! Another woman came, threw a stick into the quarry for her dog to collect - downright mean of her I thought to a) break the perfect surface b) make her dog go in such icy water! The third woman I had a good chat with, she had lived in Scarborough for a while before coming back to the area, she and her children used to swim in the quarry - warm in the shallows but like ice when you swam over the shaft not surprisingly! She told me how proud people were of the Yorkshire moors - she believed ours knocked spots of them!!
When I was with Barry and Nellie on saturday he asked me, as he asks everyone with a trade or interest, what was the one thing I would say to anyone about photography. I replied take more than one shot and from different levels - not sure the latter is included in the former so counts as one?! So I ask you the same thing - don't think about it - just what is the first thing that comes into your head?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.