Looking down with pity

On those who don't work from home and have to battle through the 1 cm snow drifts to get to work. 

I know our memory plays trick on us, but I'm convinced that many years ago I would regularly drive to work in several feet of snow and barely add 10 minutes to my journey time. I would have the windows wound down to stop the windscreen from misting up as the heater was woefully inadequate and would wave nonchalantly as I drifted sideways past other drivers doing the same. We might even bump each other slightly but that wouldn't worry us. It's just another battle scar that we wore with pride to show how many winters we had survived - road rage hadn't yet been invented.

Now, even the lightest dusting of snow brings gridlock to our roads and people start to think about abandoning their cars and checking into the nearest hotel from where they will phone home and tell the husband/wife about their scrape with death and how lucky they have been to come through it with barely a scratch.

I have got it right haven't I? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.