I spy...

I caught sight of this lovely young rattus in Embankment Gardens, where he has a nest behind a statue. He wouldn't let me get any closer, but scurried away to safety. When I walked past the spot on my way back to the office, I smiled to see a couple posing for a holiday shot in front of the statue, not knowing who was watching behind them.

An almighty yowling woke me up this morning at 5am - a cat fight in the living room. It seemed that a small, bushy-type cat is intrepid enough to sneak into the flat, right up the hallway and all the way across the front room to reach Whisky's food. What she didn't bank on was that Whisky was not asleep on my head last night, but was perched on the sofa. I think he knew that someone was stealing his food and wanted to catch the culprit. Well, he certainly gave her a good talking to, but I don't wish to be woken up with such caterwauling tomorrow morning. I shall ask him to defend his territory at the back door rather than in the flat where his slaves are sleeping.

On the plus side, it was nice getting up early and seeing the great tit family (two chicks and two adults) all perched in a row above the feeder having breakfast. This small gathering was rudely interrupted by the young squirrel, who came along and dominated the food. Fred told me that the squirrel, and Willow and Panda had a noses-to-noses moment this afternoon. Aw.

With the first dry day in ages, I cycled to and from work. It was the first outing for the bicycle plant and I like to think it enjoyed the venture into central London and back. I'm not so sure if it thrived in the air-conditioned office, but it lit up my little corner of the room.

The cycle home took in a table-tennis match with Fred at Dulwich Park. He won. He then played one of the guys playing on the table by us and won that game too. However, both the Man With No Name and I gave Fred closely scored matches and kept him on his toes.

Hooray for the sun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.