HighlandCoo

By HighlandCoo

Frustration.Com

You would be forgiven in thinking that renewing your passport would be a fairly simple task. I thought so too. Unless you are renewing an Irish passport....

Ugggghhhhhhhhhhhhh! It's been a complete arse-ache! 

I carefully went through the list of 'approved' witness/countersignatory professions.
My first port of call was my local bank. No luck there. Apparently Natwest don't do this 'service' at all anymore.

I then went to find my local Police station.... which doesn't exist! The nearest one is miles away.

I then tried my doctor's surgery. They don't provide this 'service' either.

My local church was closed.

The local pharmacists were very reticent about signing it unless they knew you for a million years or more.

The local council were useless. No elected representatives there that could do it. I wonder why they're called councillors then....?! 

Now, if I was renewing a British passport, I'd have no issues. Prison Officers and Licensees can countersign and I know loads of people in these professions. But no, an Irish passport application has to be the most contrary one I've ever seen!
I don't know any teachers here - I didn't grow up here, nor do I have any kids.
I don't know any social workers, accountants, solicitors or anyone else that could do this, so I'm a tad stuck! 
Plus, the person signing has to provide a work stamp/business card. Bloody ridiculous.....

Frustrated doesn't even cut the surface right now. 
I have a holiday to go on in 20 weeks!!!!!!!!!! 

Waaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! 

...... and breathe.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.