izzyp

By izzyp

Tiny baby gecko

This little fellow was running around on the wall in my spare bedroom today! He is TINY, I've never seen one so small! Including his tail, which he ceremoniously dropped when I caught him (to return to his rightful spot in the garden!), he measured not even 5 centimetres in length. Minus his tail, he is just over 3 cms! Geckos are lovely little creatures (just not inside!).
Most geckos drop their tails when threatened or in defence. They then grow another one! Very clever, eh! They also have specialized toe pads like little suction caps that help them climb smooth and vertical surfaces (ie walls!), and can even walk on ceilings with ease. some of them are almost see-through.
I hope this little one survives in my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.