Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Afterglow

Today I'm in that post-concert state of bliss and exhaustion, remembering moments from the performances, dozing off for short naps, reading appreciative emails and Facebook posts from concert attendees. It's a very rainy day today, so conducive to lying about.

The concerts were pretty wonderful. Once we got past the pre-concert staging angst, we got into a good flow and stayed there the rest of the day - no major mishaps, some pretty stunning moments, a couple of very happy and enthusiastic audiences. I felt good about my solo, no falls or falters, my voice stayed strong, even though my solo was toward the end of the second show!

This last week was 12 hours of formal rehearsals, at least as many hours of practicing on my own and still trying to memorize lyrics (!), and then full on from noon until 10pm yesterday. Is it any wonder I'm tired?

I posted in January at the beginning of the choir term about imagining concert day - it was fun to re-read that this morning.

So now we have a couple of mini-concerts coming up and then we're off for the summer. I'll miss my choir pals, but I can use the rest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.