Cancer Day 2015

Cancer Research UK is selling Unity Bands to commemorate Cancer Day, and what better image than Harvey and me, united, celebrating 4 years survival for me. He has skin cancer but luckily only ever one melanoma which was spotted and treated early.

Remembering Doris, Harold, Louisa, Dad, Maureen, Kate and Judith especially today.


The Uninvited Guest 

She took in guests to make her way,
her house immaculate and full of warmth.
Each fall she closed the house one month:
two weeks she sought the sun far off,
two weeks she scraped and painted, polished
wood until the pitch pine glowed like life. 

She came to me one day, for in a while
we had grown close as friends, perhaps
a recognition deep within, she came
and said, one hand on her breast,
her eyes black-deep with love and fear,
she said, "I have an uninvited guest." 

She took my hand and held it where
her own had been and had me feel the place.
It was, she said, a long-time guest,
 refused to go no matter how she prayed.
"And I'm the one who pays the price
and he who over-stays." 

The shock showed in my eyes I knew,
for half her breast was occupied.
"It's okay now," she said, "I'm ready;
no bag to pack, no tickets for this ride.
The uninvited guest, he gives me freedom."
And six months passing, so she died.           

            I'd seen her scarred, drug-fuddled from the pain,
            I would have liked to see her peaceful at the end.
            But 'family only' ruled and I must leave
            remembering how she rocked and cried,
            last time I saw her in this world;
            I'd held her, sitting side by side in bed. 

The church was packed, some had to stand
as I read the piece she'd asked for weeks before.
She had me promise, and through my shaking
from voice to heart to head to toe
I read the simple words of hope and praise
as quietly her spirit slipped away.

for Judith 1947-1993

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.