1/7/52/365

By nonsuchtony

Rough Music

Rough Music by Patrick Gale, first published in 2000, is one of those books that I've read more than once and will happily read again. The lines above appear at the start and end of the book, it's a feeling that I'm sure anyone who has stood on a beach has felt and the way Patrick Gale writes this paragraph really defines how I've felt as the sea has rushed over my feet.

Aside from recommending this book and stating the following, the book covers mental health, infidelity, sexuality and a range of other issues. It's broadly two stories interwoven with a 30 year time gap between them. The events unfold in the same place. There is nothing more to add aside from read it.

Gayle has written many novels, none as good as this in my opinion. He has also penned a biography of Armistead Maupin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.