Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

Peat

I had the urge to get out the house and visit my Dad today.  However, just as I arrived, he was leaving to go into town.  So Grace and I went for a walk  around Lenzie Moss.  It is a local nature reserve with old raised peat bogs, very unusual landscape. We used to play in the Moss and on the peat bogs when we were kids.  The raised peat bog is running down the middle of the photo and the snow dusted Campsies are in the background. The peat mounds are nowhere near as high as they used to be sadly, however some work is under way to help the Moss revert back to its naturally wet state. It is an area constantly under threat of development, the fact that it is completely unsuitable, boggy Greenbelt does not seem to stop the stream of residential plans being submitted.  Thankfully it remains as it should be, for now.  The school I went to was built on the edge of the moss and is slowly sinking!
The company and walk cheered me up a bit which was good.
I'm now off for that fabled, near mythical beast I've been hunting...the early night - it is ten pm, as near as I've managed for ages.

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.