JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Porty People and nearby Places

Descending into Edinburgh across the snowfields of the southern uplands.
I left the snowfields of Geneva behind at lunchtime following two further very positive meetings on my fleeting visit to Switzerland. I am looking forward  to being there for a slightly longer visit early next month.

Unlike yesterday's flights - today's all connected like clockwork and although I am reluctant to admit it, even my transfer through Terminal 5 at LHR  went without any hitches! 

I did find it interesting to see how the snow thins the nearer to The Forth you get. The seaward end of The Pentland Hills are also almost snow free. This is in marked contrast to the Jura mountains that protect Geneva from the north which are bedecked in deep white swathes of snow that looks like giant pavlova! 

 Lake Geneva was being wave whipped into a frenzy  that reminded me of the Forth in Force 7 gale. No boats are allowed on the lake for the next two days while the wind works itself through and eventually  disappears towards the Rhone valley in the form of Le Mistral!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.