Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Dunzi and the unfinished life

It is helpful to remember three topics: dunzi, or wasting our lives with useless distractions; shenpa, the experience of being hooked; and heartbreak or nausea with samsara (delusion).
--Pema Chodron.

Here is an array of just a few of Kendall's unfinished projects: five book manuscripts abandoned in various states of draft (the full weight of drafts would stack up to about eight feet of paper, so these pages are just a suggestion). In counterpoint to all these words, a desire to do something with my hands. Learn to draw. Create something beautiful with embroidery on silk. Outside the range of this particular photograph are all the books I'm reading and have not finished (but want to). And what am I doing?

Some people do finish things. Some people choose to do things with their time that amount to something. I really do want to finish some of these projects.

P.S. A friend who isn't a Blipper read this and asked, "When I am dead, will I enjoy the finished projects more than the unfinished ones?" Brilliant question. It leaves me laughing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.