A Shorebird Shake

I inched down the dock...getting closer and closer to this tern. Finally, with my 300mm lens extended, I got to within 5-6 feet. I was zeroed in on his eye, when he turned all Chubby Checker on me...doing the twist. I had to quickly zoom back out, so I was lucky to get this one shot. I just love it when they do this shaking thing.

I went to the marina with the idea of taking a picture of a schooner that was built in 1870. 1870!!! A guy here is attempting to restore the boat. He estimates that it will take 2-3 years, and 2.5 million dollars. Oh my! I think I'll save the picture for a Blip rainy day.

We ended our evening by going to the shore to have dinner with my brother and his wife, and a cousin and his wife from Michigan. I see my brother some when I'm down here, but it was nice to see my cousin, who I haven't seen in a long, long time.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/sets/72157650638318442/ Click above to see just a few other birds from this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.