Munition Shed

For the first time ever I decided to take part in the Derelict Thursday challenge even though the conditions for photography were far from ideal. It was icy and very foggy but I had set my heart on finding some dereliction so set forth on foot, entering a multi hazard area (a peat field), climbed over a fence as well as a stone wall and arrived at one of the munitions sheds (there are 3) left over from the Second World War. They were build near the old railway line which had been closed many years before. However as the rails were still down at that stage it was recommissioned to transport the munitions wherever they were needed. The sheds are quietly falling into ever more disrepair and only cattle, sheep and crows seem to visit. Mine were the only footsteps in the snow, and on the way back I failed to find my own footsteps again. Quite unnerving specially as I had also found a bundle of ropes hanging from the ceiling inside the shed. It was all quite ghostly! More pictures can be found here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.