A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

The Traveller

I passed this "Gypsy" caravan on the way out to a lunch arrangement with a friend, and decided that I'd 'capture' it on the way back because it would add a bit of colour on what is a dull, grey, damp day hereabouts.  When I did get to it on the return journey its occupant was there, attending to something and, after asking his permission to photograph it, I got into conversation with him.  I'm glad that I did ....

.... He was a very pleasant and very interesting man. His name is Wayne, which at first I couldn't catch properly due to his strong Geordie accent (Brits will know what I'm talking about here) - he is ex-military, but is now a "qualified mental nurse", apparently, and spends his time roaming around the country quite freely, offering his services on short-term contract basis to NHS (National Health Service) establishments which can use him.

He was happy to chat, and suggested that I might like to return with my camera at a time when he has his two horses (just out of sight in this image) harnessed and ready to move on. Additionally, I'm invited to pop by whenever I'm passing (obviously in the short-term) and have a cup of tea with him in his covered wagon.

Obviously there are lessons to be learned here. As I drove past the first time, my mind said, "Oh, a gypsy wagon - interesting!", with all the sub-conscious  judgementalism that that implies -  and I carried on, on my way.  When I stopped on the return journey there was a police van parked alongside, and I just nodded to the police officer as I passed her, and grunted something about using the camera - and she said that the owner was there, and that I'd find that he was a very friendly fellow.   And I did - he was. The first thing he said, when I asked if he'd mind my photographing him, was, "OK, I'll just put the dog on a shorter lead for you." So pleased I stopped. An interesting experience, and an interesting man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.